Movie Review: Beautiful Creatures


Last February 22, my emotional birthday, I mentioned that I spent the afternoon inside the theater to watch Beautiful Creatures. To those unaware, which is unlikely, i think? Beautiful Creatures is a 2013 movie that was based on a novel of the same title written by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl and is the first book in the Caster Chronicles Series. Since I love to read and knowing that the movie was based from a book, this made me want to watch the film.(I have yet to read this book! Really!) So I did.

-Beautiful-Creatures-2013-Posters-alice-englert-32717936-3200-1600

My thoughts?

Watching a movie in the Middle East can be exasperating at times. Why? For the reason that they love editing out certain scenes they deemed inappropriate. Kissing scenes for example! There are about three kissing scenes (i assumed) that were cut from the movie. I don’t really care if they like to cut those scenes but I feel like because they have to make readjustments to make the flow of the movie smoother, they probably have deleted a few scenes taken in between the kissing parts. In short, I don’t think I got the whole of my money’s worth.

Anyway, the movie was okay. The characters weren’t bad and the actors who portrayed them were great. I especially like the character of Emmy Rossum, who played Ridley Duchannes, the sexy dark cousin of Lena and also Sarafine, the powerful Dark Caster played by Emma Thompson. The main protagonists Lena and Ethan played by Alden Ehrenreich and Alice Englert were quite charming in their roles. I think, acting-wise, all actors were awesome in their own way.

The movie as a whole, I wasn’t really jumping up and down my seat. On a scale of 1 to 10 I’d probably just rate it a 6 1/2. It was good, but I feel that the movie itself was lacking and that it was kind of rushed and certain details were omitted. I probably shouldn’t be surprised. After all it was based on a novel. It really made me want to read the book more because of the unsatisfied feeling I had after watching it.

Oh well, I need to get inside a bookstore soon.

Leave a Reply

