An Unfortunate Experience at PAUL


Last Monday (March 4), me and my friend/co-worker/fellow blogger Janel had lunch together in Villagio Mall. It was nothing out of the ordinary since we do eat there during breaks but because we both have a craving for sweets that day and everyday we decided to look for stores that sells just that.

First store we thought of was Starbucks, but unfortunately found nothing that we liked to try. Then we went to Paul, which is a bakery restaurant we’ve never tried before, where we saw a variety of mouthwatering desserts that tempted us to buy right on the spot.

IMG_0178IMG_0179

However, we remembered that Dean and Delluca sells delicious pastries as well so we hold our cravings for Paul’s desserts for a while longer and went to check on Dean and Delluca.

As expected, we saw a number of pretty looking cakes at Dean and Delluca.

IMG_0172IMG_0173IMG_0171

Unable to choose what to buy, I asked one of the staff which cake is their best seller and was told that their Cheesecake and Carrot Cake sells the best. We also get to have a taste of the carrot cake for FREE!

IMG_0177

Personally the taste was good. I would eat it but not crave for it, and it’s only because I’m not a fan of carrot cakes. Anyway, Janel also feels the same so she ended up buying the strawberry shortcake instead.

Since I didn’t buy anything from Dean and Delluca, we went back to Paul and decided to eat there… and this is where the unfortunate experience happened. I’m no longer going to write the experience in detail but I’ll tell only that I encountered a rather ill-mannered staff.

As a first time customer I expected a better first impression. The Paul Bakery Restaurant has a very nice, vintage feel to it and being a new customer adds to my excitement. Unfortunately, good things are sometimes marred by bad things — in this case, a particular staff. Anyway, to describe her attitude, she was unaccomodating, unsmiling and disrespectful. She asked for my order in a way that made me feel “that I should hurry because she she doesn’t want to be bothered”. She gave me the wrong pastry I ordered and loudly told the waiter that I told her that THIS is what I ordered when in fact THAT is what I ordered. Anyway, it was a bad experience and Janel, Ate Earl (friend/co-worker who met us at Paul) and I asked one of the nice waiter one of their cards where customers write comments about their dining experience. We could have called the manager (I know that) but we hope this alone would make her realize what she did. Hopefully, she won’t do the same to others.

Ok, I don’t want to end this on a bad note so these are what we ordered.

Lemon Meringue Tart
Lemon Meringue Tart
Chocolate Shake
Chocolate Shake
Chocolate Shake (Top View)
Chocolate Shake (Top View)

And yes I still would like to eat at Paul Bakery Restaurant. There are still a lot of pastries to try. Maybe I’ll check out the one in Landmark Mall instead.

The Menu
The Menu
Leave a Reply

