DAY 16: Biggest Fear


According to Google, Fear is defined as an emotion induced by a perceived threat which causes entities to quickly pull far away from it and usually hide. It is a basic survival mechanism occurring in response to a specific stimulus, which is perceived as a risk of significant loss of health, wealth, status, power, security or of anything held valuable. In short, fear is the motivating force in the ability to recognize danger leading to an urge to confront it or flee from it.

There are many things in life that I was afraid of while growing up. Common fears like fear of heights, of being alone in the dark, seeing ghosts and meeting murdering psycopaths to flying cockroaches and scaly reptiles. Up till now, I’m still afraid of these things. I still feel woozy looking down atop high-story buildings. I still pray not to see any ghostly beings whether they are real or not and I definitely do not want to be in the sight of a murdering psycopath. Oh! I forgot, I would still scream like a banshee in the presence of a flying cockroach!

But you see, these fears are nothing compared to what I do fear the most… the unknown future

As I grew older, I got into a point where I realize that this life I had is not what I imagined it to be. It’s not a bad one, but it’s not the one I wanted either. There’s this dream I envisioned of having, and I know I can go there and make it real, but at the same time there is this uncertainty, of whether or not I can get there in the time I wanted or dreamed of.

tumblr_lvwwb16ifm1qbg48xo1_500

It’s pretty depressing sometimes, especially since I’m an over thinker, and I sometimes forget and have to remind myself constantly to concentrate on the now… of the present. To make as many good decisions now as I can that will pave the way to the future I wanted. It won’t be an easy task, but I know it is how things begin. Then maybe someday, when that time comes, I’ll know.

“The unknown is scary the Unknown can also be exciting. Your life could change in an instant anytime. But sometimes, that change is the best thing that will ever happen to you. Maybe I don’t have to know what my fate is to know that everything will be okay. Maybe the not knowing is how we move forward. Wherever I’m headed, I know it’s exactly where I’m supposed to be.” — Susane Colasanti

