Manga x Manhwa


So lately I’ve been reading more manga x manhwa than the literary books that I normally read. I still have quite a number of “to-be-read” ebooks saved in my iPad, which I basically have not done yet due to my current fixation in the manga x manhwa I’ve been reading as of late.

You might be wondering why I kept writing manga x manhwa instead of just writing manga or just manhwa. Well I do that just cause I want to differentiate the ones I’m reading as to whether they are originally japanese or korean.

For those unfamiliar, Manga is generally a japanese term for comics and print cartoons while Manwha is a korean term that means the same thing. A slight difference in spelling but both amazing in its entirety!

Since I neither read in japanese or korean, I read the english translated ones using the Manga Bird app, Manga Rock app and the Webtoon app. Mostly I use the Manga Bird and Manga Rock app for manga while I prefer using the Webtoon app for manhwa. And if ever my trusted iPad is not with me, I read manga online in the Mangahen site

Currently, there are 6 manga x manhwa that I’m so in love with right now and I’m sharing them below:

MANGA

Shokugeki No Soma

Shokugeki no Soma is the story of a boy named Sōma Yukihira, who dreams of becoming a full-time chef in his father’s restaurant and to surpass his father’s culinary skills. But when Sōma graduates from middle school, his father, Jōichirō Yukihira, closes the restaurant for he gets a new job that requires him to travel around the world. However, as a parting note, his father challenged Sōma that if he ever wishes to beat him one day, he first has to survive in an elite culinary school (the Totsuki Culinary Academy), where only 10% of the students succeed in graduating.  Here he meets many amazing students and experiences new events that will allow him to grow further to attain his goal.

Shokugeki No Soma

I love a culinary themed manga! You can’t help but wish you’re inside the pages and getting to savor mouthwatering dishes and relishing it’s aroma. I’ve only watched the anime Chuuka Ichiban (Cooking Master Boy) years back, which I tremendously enjoyed – planning to read the manga later on (better late than never).  Anyway, back to Shokugeki No Soma, I definitely recommend this if you love a great cooking manga. Aside from the yummy food, it has gorgeous looking characters, funny moments, awesome friendships and an exciting story you can’t help but get hooked on.

Tokyo Ghoul

Ken Kaneki is a college student who is taken to the hospital in critical condition after barely surviving a deadly encounter with Rize Kamishiro, his date who happens to be a ghoul. After recovering from hospitalization, Kaneki discovers that he underwent organ transplant surgery that transformed him into a half-ghoul. For some cruel twist of fate, it was Rize’s organs that were transferred into his body, and now, like normal ghouls, he must consume human flesh to survive. The ghouls who manage a coffee shop “Anteiku” took him in and taught him to deal with his new life as a half-ghoul. Some of his daily struggles include fitting in to the ghoul society, as well as keeping his identity hidden from his human acquaintances

Tokyo Ghoul

I’ve been seeing this manga for quite some time before I started reading it 2 months ago. I’m not really familiar with ghouls so it might be one of the reasons why I wasn’t so keen about reading it. I guess I only got interested after watching the animated series at Gogoanime site and reading a lot of complaints by viewers in the comment section. Apparently, there were a lot of changes made in the anime that would have been better left as it was in the manga, and fans of the manga had voiced out their disappointments. After reading the manga myself, I can’t help but agree with everybody’s sentiments. There are definitely major changes made. I recommend you try to watch the anime first if you don’t want to get disappointed with the changes. Anyway, it’s still worth it whether you watch or read it first.

Hunter x Hunter

The story focuses on a young boy named Gon Freecss, who discovers that his father, who he was told was dead, is actually alive and a world-renowned Hunter, a licensed profession for those who specialize in fantastic pursuits such as locating rare or unidentified animal species, treasure hunting, surveying unexplored enclaves, or hunting down lawless individuals. Despite being abandoned by his father, Gon departs upon a journey to follow in his footsteps, pass the rigorous Hunter Examination, and eventually find his father. Along the way, Gon meets various other Hunters and also encounters the paranormal.

hxh

Hunter x Hunter is one of my all-time favorite anime, so it’s not surprising for me to read the manga as it completes my all time obsession of it. This manga has been on frequent hiatus in the past couple of years, the longest of which was it’s 2 year-long hiatus in June 2014. Luckily, it has returned this April of 2016 and is currently on chapter 357. For those who didn’t know, the author of this manga is also the author of Yu Yu Hakusho (Ghost Fighter as known in the Philippines and also a favorite of mine) and I think that’s pretty obvious in the drawings.

MANHWA

Noblesse

Noblesse is about a powerful noble – Cadis Etrama Di Raizel (referred to as Rai) – who has been asleep for 820 years with no knowledge of mankind’s advancement and scientific successes. At the start of the story, Rai wakes up in an abandoned building in South Korea, and starts to get used to the modern world. He goes to a school, where he meets his loyal servant Frankenstein. With Frankenstein’s help, Rai enrolls into high school and inadvertently befriends athletic teenager Shinwoo, computer geek Ikhan, and Shinwoo’s crush Yuna, and a few others. Noblesse follows the group’s often dangerous adventures against a secret organization while uncovering Rai’s past.

Noblesse (from the Webtoon app)
I came upon this manhwa while I was looking for another manga to read. I just finished reading the latest chapter from Shokugeki No Soma at that time, and since there was nothing left for me to do, I decided to browse the Mangahen site to check some new reads. I guess what caught my interest with Noblesse is the synopsis written on the site.

“Noblesse is about a powerful, noble vampire – Cadis Etrama Di Raizel (also called Rai) – who has been asleep for 820 years with no knowledge …”

… a powerful, noble vampire…

That statement alone got me hooked! It’s a vampire! Anyway, Rai is kind of a vampire in the sense that he doesn’t age, ridiculously handsome, extremely powerful and has lived for thousands of years. The story in itself is not about vampires and I would recommend everyone to read this to better understand. It’s also better to read it on the Webtoon app for a more pleasant reading experience.

Tower of god

Tower of God centers around a boy called Twenty-Fifth Baam, who has spent his life trapped beneath a mysterious tower. Chasing after his only friend, Rachel,  he manages to open a door into the Tower, and must now face challenges as he climbs each floor of this tower to find his companion.

Tower of God (from the Webtoon app)

What do you desire? Money and wealth? Honor and pride? Authority and power? Revenge? Or something that transcend all of them? Whatever you desire – ‘is in here.’

These were the opening lines in the first chapter of Tower of God. I was intrigued. The illustrations were not as appealing when I first started reading this manhwa, and if it wasn’t for the opening lines, I probably would not have wasted time reading it and forever be ignorant of the awesomeness of this manhwa. I am so in awe of this manhwa I screencaptured a particular scene, shared it on Instagram and made it my wallpaper in my iPad.

13453131_10207625927899939_1232671140_o

Winter Woods

A few thousand years has passed since an alchemist created Winter. He is now living with Jane learning what it means to be alive as a human. 

Winter wants to become a living person,
Jane wants to become a famous storybook writer.
This is their colourful story.

winter woods

Long long ago, there lived a famous alchemist.

He was happily living with his beautiful wife who was pregnant with his child.

One day, as his wife was giving birth to their child, she passed away. And even their child died.

Overwhelmed by sadness, the alchemist hid himself deep within his castle. And spent his days in tears.

As he sat alone in his gloom, he decided to do something.

“THAT’S IT! I’LL MAKE A FAMILY.”

I think it’s the alchemist part that got to me plus the illustrations in the opening of the story are beautiful – like a fairy tale in a children’s book. Then a sudden shift in tone as it settles on the present day characters. It’s a much mellow story as compared to the ones above and not as action-packed. It’s like a love story… a journey of man. It’s a like a different variation of Frankenstein’s story. A modern tale where he finally gets to learn how to feel… and later on love.


And that ends my very long post for the day. Whew!

Leave a Reply

