A Tea of Pearls


Chatime has finally come to Doha. Yey!

13553369_10207735429277405_1111773579_n

A few days before the start of Ramadan, after hearing the news of a Chatime branch here in Doha, two of my colleagues invited me to come and check out the place at The Pearl Qatar. There we found the famous bubble tea chain in a small corner inside Spinney’s – we went in circles just finding the place. The ambiance is quite cozy – pretty simple with their signature colors of purple and white. Because the place is small, inside seats are limited, probably 3 tables with 2 to 3 chairs each if I remember correctly. But seats are also available outside, a good place to enjoy your milk tea while chilling out and appreciating the weather and view.

13522694_10207731947910373_6136964780106825728_o

The menu is almost the same in the Philippines, but with the surprising addition of Karak Milk Tea, which I found interesting. Karak tea is, after all, pretty delicious, but I usually drink it hot and definitely without tapioca pearls. I’m thinking of trying that one on my next visit. Also, it’s good to know that they ask the level of sugar and ice desired for each drink.

The cakes are fairly simple. Nothing too fancy.

They have the usual strawberry cheesecake, blueberry cheesecake, honey cake, lotus cake and a number of muffins, sandwiches and croissants. Pretty basic I should say.

cakes

So for our orders, I opted to try their Taro Milk Tea (Taro is basically one of my usual go-to flavors when I order Bubble Tea in other places), which I unfortunately felt a tad disappointed about. I usually go for normal sugar level in my first try of a particular milk tea to have a baseline reference on how sweet they make a drink, but this Taro is not sweet, and for a normal level of sugar, it was bland for my taste. Maybe they’re not just as sweet as other Bubble tea shops, but anyways, I was not satisfied.

Also, there were no tapioca pearls in my Taro Milk Tea. I learned later on, after I asked one of the staff,  that the tapioca pearls are only added as ordered. Meaning there would be “additional payment for the pearls”. What a bummer! In the Philippines, the pearls are automatically part of the drink you paid for. So yeah, I did feel bad about that one.

Anyway, my friends Rachelle, Janel and JJ ordered Oolong Milk Tea, Chocolate Mouse, and Taro Milk Tea respectively. As far as I know they are more satisfied with their choice than I was with mine.

To complement our drinks, we also ordered Blueberry cheesecake and Lotus cake which are not too sweet – a good thing as compared with my taro milk tea. I just didn’t like that the outer shell is so hard. It’s like I have to dig into the center to be able to get to the cheesecake itself. Good thing the taste made up for it.

13382078_10207518885503946_138355242_n

Overall, it wasn’t bad, but it certainly was not as good as I expected.

Chatime Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

