A Book and a Cup of Tea


About a month ago, I’ve come across this website that features “all things bookish”. They sell vintage books for children and adults, framed book pages, colorful bookmarks, personalized phone cases and dainty-looking notebooks and journals. What I find pretty neat about it was that the items were designed with quotations from different books and inspirational sayings from famous people.

bookishly

As I was browsing through the site, I found a link that directed me to a book club subscription. Availing a book club subscription entitles you a “special literary package on your doorstep every month”, depending of course on which book subscription you decide to choose: Coffee and Book Club Subscription or Tea and Book Club Subscription.

Since I’m not much of a coffee drinker, I opted to avail the Tea and Book Club Subscription. For not only am I going to get a monthly supply of tea and vintage books, I also get to have some pretty stationery, which is sadly lacking in the Coffee and Book Club Subscription. Payment for the subscriptions can be done monthly, every 3 months or for a whole year, whichever you prefer. Price for the Tea and Book Club Subscription is £12 per month while the subscription for the Coffee and Book Club is £9 per month. Note that the former has stationery in them, which explains the higher pricing.

Three days ago, I received my first ever package, and I suddenly was over the moon. ❤

14957962_10208738539514534_831371258_o

14883673_10208714405311194_7147460766398323659_o
Package contained the following: 3 chrsitmas cards, bookmark, vintage book, jenier tea (4 packets)

The book I received was a Penguin Science Fiction book titled The Black Cloud by Fred Hoyle.

14917297_10208714399871058_6138586446516491277_o
SYNOPSIS: A 1959 classic ‘hard’ science-fiction novel by renowned Cambridge astronomer and cosmologist Fred Hoyle. Tracks the progress of a giant black cloud that comes towards Earth and sits in front of the sun, causing widespread panic and death. A select group of scientists and astronomers – including the dignified Astronomer Royal, the pipe smoking Dr Marlowe and the maverick, eccentric Professor Kingsly – engage in a mad race to understand and communicate with the cloud, battling against trigger happy politicians.

I may get stoned for this but this is the first time I’ve heard of The Black Cloud, and after reading the synopsis of this novel, I’m pretty sure that this would be an interesting read for me since it’s plot is something I’ve never read before. Truly looking forward to reading it and excited to receive more of this in the coming months. 😀

Leave a Reply

