Pink October


Obviously a late post, but here goes.

pink-breast-cancer-awareness-wallpapers

As most people know, October is Breast Cancer Awareness month – A worldwide annual campaign that helps raise awareness of the disease and raise funds for breast cancer research. In support of this campaign, Qatar Cancer Society held a 2-day Breast Cancer Conference, under the patronage of His Excellency Sheikh Abdulla Bin Nasser Bin Khalifa Al-Thani, here in Doha for all health care providers, researchers, health science students etc.

An excerpt from the site:

Breast cancer conference is a unique accredited continuous professional development opportunity for healthcare providers in the field of breast cancer health care at the local, regional and international levels.

The conference will serve a great chance to exchange knowledge with top international experts and familiarize yourself with the latest medical technologies in the field of breast cancer.

Since I am currently working as an allied health care provider here in Qatar, my colleagues and I decided to seize this chance and register online.

bcc

The event was conducted at the Conference Hall of the Sheraton Grand Hotel from October 28 to 29, 2016. There was no declared limit for the number of attendees allowed causing a vast number of attendees from all fields of medicine and health care to sign up. I feel like the overwhelming amount of people who came might have been the reason why the event started a little late than the designated time. There were still people entering the hall by the time it was supposed to start. Too bad I have no pictures of the crowd.

But here’s me with my colleagues, while waiting for other attendees to arrive. Guess which one’s me. 😀

14876168_667387186773335_242507925_o

I think you’ll notice the small crowd behind us and we’re like already situated near the doors. Mind you, it’s a big hall. You’ll have to quadruple the crowd behind us to have an idea of what’s in front.

So at half past 4 pm (if I remember correctly) and after a few more selfies (or should I say groufies? lol!), the conference finally commenced. There were a total of seven speakers that day, different nationalities and each an expert in their field. Though I’m going to be honest here and say that I was really trying my hardest not to fall asleep with some of the topics discussed. I guess I’m just really bad in listening things concerning studies and statistics. :p

Anyway, due to the delay, Day 1 of the conference ended later than expected. But overall, it was a fine experience and a great way to be a part of a campaign that helps and educates.

14881428_667433856768668_257482561_o
Group pic after the Conference

Leave a Reply

