Between Honesty and Fakery


The world is full of hypocrites. Yep! I said it and there’s no nicer way to put it.

I dislike hypocrites. Probably one of the things I hate in this world. They are people who say one thing but does another. They talk and talk but never walk the walk. Unfortunately, I’m surrounded by a number of people who falls in this category. Even if I have the option to get rid of these people in my life, it’s not easy since an aspect of my life would be affected and it currently goes hand in hand. It’s an everyday battle that simply makes me angry at myself. Because to survive meant I have to tolerate such hypocrisy by feigning indifference or acting like nothing is wrong.

One thing that really infuriates me to the core is how people would pretend to “genuinely” agree with you then once you show your back that’s when the 3-headed monsters appear. They don’t really agree with you. They just don’t want to appear selfish or bad or unreasonable.

hypocrites

I am a very straightforward person, but I am not mean nor do I have any intentions to hurt. I do sometimes become brutally frank, but those are situations wherein I got fed up so I say things as I feel at the moment. But because of this attitude of mine, I don’t hold grudges and easily forgives once everything is settled and apologies are made. Always, after an outburst of emotion, I do feel guilty once the heat of the moment dies down and I’m able to contemplate on what I’ve said… how I could have said things differently or used a different word or just plain sugar coat things.

It’s very stressing. Really!

You know how people say that they prefer the truth more than the lies? How they say that they can handle the truth?

truth-or-lies

It’s a lie! NO ONE can really handle the truth. I, who consider myself a straightforward person, is sensitive to the truth. However, but because of my blunt personality, I am able to appreciate (once I get over the hurt) the person who is brave enough to tell the truth in my face. I get hurt. I may even cry, but that’s it. It’s normal. The truth will always hurt if you are guilty of something. That’s just the way it is. Whether or not a person tells the truth “as a matter of fact” or “under a pile of sugar”, the truth will always sting where it should. It is how a person is able to handle the truth that reveals the fine line between personal maturity and utter ignorance.

I just wish people would just be upfront with their feelings instead of just talking about it behind someone’s back. Misunderstandings occur because of such misgivings. An unresolved issue will just fester and consume a person into negativity.

lies

It’s not easy being honest… but it’s always better than being fake.

Leave a Reply

