FEB Day 5 : What do I need to be content?


What do I need to be content? I’ve asked myself this question about a hundred times in my years of existence, and in those years of contemplation I’ve only had one very simple answer: TRUE HAPPINESS.

But how to achieve true happiness? That’s where I get stumped. I don’t know how to achieve true happiness. Some people may seem to have everything – a family, a home, friends, money – but still are not content with their lives. Some people would say they are already content with their lives, but then secretly envies their neighbors.

“To be content with little is difficult; to be content with much, impossible.” — Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach (Aphorisms)

How could anyone reach contentment? How could I reach contentment?

I think contentment is finding true happiness not on what’s around you but within yourself. To be completely happy with who you are as a person. I think the intangible things we receive are what makes life better and more beautiful, while it’s the tangible things that only makes you want more and causing only dissatisfaction.

“To live a life of contentment, one must accept everything that they are. Every inch. Every flaw. Completely surrender oneself to the unchangeable flow of the universe. We are who we are. Things will occur the way they do.” – @thepowerwithin

Now that I’m writing my thoughts on this, I feel like I’m able to understand what true contentment is about more. Whether or not I’d be able to one day say “I’m content”, I’m hoping this realization would be the start that would help pave the way to achieving true happiness, and therefore the ever elusive contentment.

 

Leave a Reply

